MrHowd.com



Behavior

Students are encouraged to make good choices and follow our class rules. Students that are struggling with choices may be helped by the following methods:

  1. Students sit in teams, with each team having an elected captain (learn more about team captains and leadership here). I ask teams to help their neighbor make good choices and help solve problems before they grow. A problem solved at this level has no consequence.
  2. Students that continue to struggle with good choices may be asked to take a self-control timeout by sitting away from their team. I have trays that can be set up in isolated areas of the class, allowing a student to have some time to regain their self-control. When a student is ready, they can ask to rejoin their team. Sometimes students may complete a Classroom Code to help them think through their choices.
  3. Students that continue to struggle, even after a timeout, will receive a behavior letter to take home. The letter will inform family members about the issue of concern form class.
  4. Extreme behavior concerns may result in a half or full-day suspension. These cases usually involve blatant defiance or disrespect.
  5. Beyond timeouts and behavior letters, I also have students practice behaviors to improve. This practice time usually happens during recess. And that means that sometimes, some students will be practicing sitting quietly, walking in line, following directions, or finishing work while others are outside playing. This helps students to see that actions have consequences. By practicing, students can improve their behavior and make better choices. Learn more about our recess policy here.

 

Notes

27 Responses

  1. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Friday, January 5 on Jan 6, 2007 at 11:13 pm

  2. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Friday, January 12 on Jan 12, 2007 at 6:44 pm

  3. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Thursday, January 18 on Jan 18, 2007 at 6:46 pm

  4. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Wednesday, January 31 on Jan 31, 2007 at 6:27 pm

  5. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Wednesday, February 7 on Feb 7, 2007 at 7:27 pm

  6. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Tuesday, February 13 on Feb 13, 2007 at 6:57 pm

  7. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Wednesday, February 21 on Feb 21, 2007 at 6:47 pm

  8. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Thursday, February 22 on Feb 22, 2007 at 8:04 pm

  9. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Friday, February 23 on Feb 23, 2007 at 7:37 pm

  10. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Wednesday, February 28 and Thursday, March 1 on Mar 1, 2007 at 8:15 pm

  11. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Monday, March 5 on Mar 5, 2007 at 6:52 pm

  12. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Thursday, March 8 and Friday, March 9 on Mar 9, 2007 at 5:55 pm

  13. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Monday, March 26 on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:26 pm

  14. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Tuesday, March 27 on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:05 pm

  15. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Friday, March 30 on Mar 30, 2007 at 6:05 pm

  16. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Tuesday, April 3 on Apr 3, 2007 at 1:30 pm

  17. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Thursday, April 5 on Apr 5, 2007 at 2:09 pm

  18. […]  Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Monday, April 16 on Apr 16, 2007 at 8:39 pm

  19. […]  Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Wednesday, April 18 on Apr 18, 2007 at 5:47 pm

  20. […]  Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Thursday, April 19 and Friday, April 20 on Apr 20, 2007 at 5:34 pm

  21. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Monday, April 23 on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:20 pm

  22. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Tuesday, April 24 on Apr 24, 2007 at 7:43 pm

  23. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Wednesday, April 25 on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:32 pm

  24. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Monday, May 7 on May 7, 2007 at 5:05 pm

  25. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Monday, May 14 on May 15, 2007 at 4:40 pm

  26. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Tuesday, May 15 on May 15, 2007 at 4:51 pm

  27. […] Behavior Update: […]

    by The Fourth Story » Blog Archive » Class activities for Wednesday, May 16 on May 16, 2007 at 5:04 pm

Leave a Reply




Recent Posts


Pages



About MrHowd.com

Welcome to the online home of Room 130, at McGrath Elementary School, the fourth/fifth grade classroom of Mr. Howd. This site is both our classroom website and our class blog. How to use this site An online planner. Visit the home page of this site to get daily news and activities from Room 130. You’ll […]more →